Mint Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies | #calmandbrightcookienight

Mint Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies | Brewing Happiness

Mint Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies | #calmandbrightcookienight
 
Prep time
Cook time
Total time
 
Combine all of the best holiday cookies into one and you get these soft Mint Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies! (Plus, they're actually pretty healthy.)
Author:
Recipe type: Sweet Thangs
Serves: 10 cookies
Ingredients
Dry Ingredients:
  • 2 cups all purpose flour (sub gluten-free AP flour)
  • ¼ cup coco or cacao powder
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon allspice
  • ½ teaspoon nutmeg
  • ¼ teaspoon ginger powder
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon baking powder
  • a dash of salt
Wet Ingredients:
  • ½ cup vegan buttery spread, room temperature
  • ½ cup coconut sugar
  • ⅓ cup coconut nectar (sub honey)
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil, melted
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ½ teaspoon peppermint extract
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. In a large bowl mix together all dry ingredients.
  3. Using a standing mixer or hand mixer, mix together all wet ingredients on medium speed until smooth and well combined.
  4. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add in dry ingredients slowly until the batter is thick and sticks together.
  5. Transfer the batter to a piece of parchment paper or a greased surface. Roll into a ½ inch thick round.
  6. Use a cookie cutter to cut out gingerbread men shapes and carefully transfer to a parchment paper (or greased) lined baking sheet.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes on a middle rack.
  8. Allow to cool completely on the baking sheet before serving.
  9. EAT UP.

Mint Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies | Brewing Happiness

I spent last week away from my phone at an experiential therapy “camp” searching for pieces of myself that I’m not even sure I knew were missing. You see, I’ve spent the last year of my life living alone, putting myself back together, and building a life that I am proud of. A year ago I moved from LA to Atlanta at a time when I was struggling with broken relationships, disordered eating, and about zero sense of self worth. I was exhausted and bitter and at the end of my ability to take care of myself. So I asked for help. 

I saw many therapists, went to self-help retreats, therapy camp, and cried (to myself and others.) I let it all out. I became soft. I became vulnerable. I started to really feel. And holy hell did I feel it all. Because, as Brene Brown taught me, you can’t exclusively numb. So in order to feel the good things again, I had to open myself up to really feeling the bad. It sucked. But I am so thankful.

Mint Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies | Brewing Happiness

In some strange way, I feel like one of these Mint Chocolate Gingerbread Men. Creating a life I now love and am proud of is really similar to the way I developed this recipe. I looked at all of the things I’d done in the past and decided I wanted to “make a different recipe” this time. So I considered all of the things (or flavors) I love, and I stitched them together. I had some trials and “failures” along the way. Some versions came out too hard, or dry, or “ugly”, or “chubby.” I got frustrated. I thought I might not finish them in time. And yet, I did it. I created a delicious, soft gingerbread man. Just like I created a cool and compassionate life. 

Mint Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies | Brewing Happiness

I am not yet done “baking.” I know that. Next year there will be another cookie party, and I will want to develop a new recipe – a new me. And that is okay. In fact, that’s exactly as it should be. But for now, I’m going to eat some cookies and enjoy their soft complexity. I am going to enjoy every single bite. I am going to live. 

Mint Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies | Brewing Happinesshashtag-celebratehealthierbh-signature-banner

Checkout more cookies from the #calmandbrightcookienight hosted by The Modern Proper!

The Modern Proper – Coconut Thumbprint Cookies with Salted Caramel – https://themodernproper.com/posts/coconut-thumbprint-cookies-with-salted-caramel

Wood and Spoon – Candied Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies – http://thewoodandspoon.com/candied-walnut-chocolate-chip-cookies/

Floating Kitchen – Chocolate Peppermint Thumbprint Cookies http://www.floatingkitchen.net/peppermint-chocolate-thumbprint-cookies/

Brewing Happiness – Mint Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies https://www.brewinghappiness.com/mint-chocolate-gingerbread-cookies-calmandbrightcookienight/

The Vintage Mixer – Ginger Creams with Browned butter Icing http://www.thevintagemixer.com/2016/12/christmas-cookies-ginger-creams/

Wu Haus – Raw Vegan Gingerbread Cookie Sandwiches http://www.wuhaus.com/blog/2016/12/12/raw-vegan-gingerbread-cookie-sandwiches

The Almond Eater – Homemade Almond Biscotti http://thealmondeater.com/2016/12/homemade-almond-biscotti/

Chocolate + Marrow – Brown Butter Gingerbread Madeleines  http://chocolateandmarrow.com/2016/12/12/brown-butter-gingerbread-madeleines-recipe 

Hungry Girl Por Vida – Lemon Pistachio Linzer Cookies https://www.hungrygirlporvida.com/blog/2016/12/12/lemon-pistachio-linzer-cookies/

Honestly YUM – Ricciarelli (Italian Almond Cookies) http://honestlyyum.com/18212/ricciarelli-italian-almond-cookies/

Husbands That Cook – Chocolate Sugar Cookies http://www.husbandsthatcook.com/2016/12/chocolate-sugar-cookies/

The Judy Lab – Sea Salt Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies http://www.thejudylab.com/recipes-blog/sea-salt-chocolate-chocolate-chip-cookies

Gather and Dine – Chocolate Almond Spelt Cookies http://www.gatheranddine.com/chocolate-almond-spelt-cookies/

Betty S Liu– Cardamom Persimmon Cookies with Olive Oil Dark Chocolate Ganache http://bettysliu.com/2016/12/12/cardamom-persimmon-cookies-olive-oil-dark-chocolate-ganache/

Harvest and Honey – Milk & Cookies https://harvestandhoney.com/2016/12/12/milk-cookies/

Bakerita – Chocolate Rugelach (gluten free + refined sugar free) http://www.bakerita.com/chocolate-rugelach-gluten-free/

The Fauxmartha – Snowball cookies http://www.thefauxmartha.com/2016/12/12/snowball-cookies/

The Kitchen Paper – Soft Toffee Cookies http://thekitchenpaper.com/soft-toffee-cookies/

Life Is But A Dish – Chocolate Peppermint Cream Cookies http://www.lifeisbutadish.com/chocolate-peppermint-cream-cookies/

Oh Honey Bakes Pomegranate Pistachio and Almond Biscotti http://ohhoneybakes.com/pomegranate-pistachio-and-lemon-biscotti/

The Brick Kitchen – Coconut Raspberry Wagon Wheels http://www.thebrickkitchen.com/2016/12/coconut-raspberry-wagon-wheels/

Alexandra Cooks – Classic Cream Cheese Cutout Cookies http://www.alexandracooks.com/2016/12/11/classic-cream-cheese-cutout-cookies/

Hello My Dumpling – Ginger Viennese Whirl Cookies with Matcha Passion Fruit Filling http://www.hellomydumpling.com/ginger-viennese-whirl-cookies-matcha-passion-fruit-filling

Snixy Kitchen – Peppermint Chocolate Marshmallow Cookies http://www.snixykitchen.com/2016/12/12/peppermint-chocolate-marshmallow-cookies/

Tending the Table – Almond Macaroons with Satsuma Marmalade https://tendingthetable.com/2016/12/12/almond-macaroons-with-satsuma-marmalade/

Milly’s Kitchen – Grapefruit Fennel Shortbread Cookies http://www.millys-kitchen.com/millys-kitchen/2016/12/12/grapefruit-fennel-shortbread-cookies

PDX Food Love – Chocolate Bourbon Swirl Meringues http://pdxfoodlove.com/chocolate-bourbon-swirl-meringues-for-calmandbrightcookienight/

Lasting Ingredient – Lemon Lime Shortbread http://www.lastingredient.com/2016/12/12/lemon-lime-shortbread/

Heart Beet Kitchen Chocolate Peppermint Crinkle Cookies http://heartbeetkitchen.com/2016/recipes/type/dessert/chocolate-peppermint-crinkle-cookies/

Carly Diaz Dark Chocolate Pistachio Shortbread Cookie https://www.carlydiaz.com/blog/2016/12/12/dark-chocolate-pistachio-shortbread-cookies

 

Cloudy Kitchen – Early Grey Shortbread http://www.cloudykitchen.com/blog/2016/12/11/earl-grey-shortbread

Lena’s Kitchen Blog Shortbread Cookies Three Ways http://www.lenaskitchenblog.com/shortbread-cookies-three-ways/

Filed Under: Sweet, Sweet Thangs